British Design And Postmodernism

In April 2012 I have visited probably the most breathtaking and amazing exhibition in my life. The exhibition took place in Victoria & Albert Museum in London and was called simply British Design. The exhibition traces the changes in design of the period from 1948 – 2012 by exploring ideas, images, fashion and architecture based in Britain. In my opinion this exhibition has a mark of postmodernism on it as most of the designs exhibited were produced particularly in the time period when this style was dominant.

“The first use of the term “postmodernism” is before 1926, and extends to the 1870s, when it was used by the British artist John Watkins Chapman.”  (Appignanesi and Garratt 1999  pp.3)

“Posteriority”, the negative feeling of coming after a creative age or, conversely, the positive feeling of transcending a negative ideology, really develops in the 1970s, in architecture and literature, two centres of the postmodern debate.” (Appignanesi and Garratt 1999 pp.3)

Coming back to the exhibition, I would like to say that it really inspired me and helped me while I was working on my project related to British design and postmodernism. Despite of being graphic designer, I found fashion and fabric prints the most interesting for me.

I was very impressed by tulle dress designed by Hussein Chalayan. This dress is breathtaking and unique.  Large, bleeding tulle egg probably has thousands metres of fabric in it. Red colour sort of fades out and gives fascinating effect.

Fig. 3, Factory Club  Poster by Peter Saville http://www.cerysmaticfactory.info/images/fac1posterdetail.jpg

Fig. 3, Factory Club Poster by Peter Saville
http://www.cerysmaticfactory.info/images/fac1posterdetail.jpg

As a piece of graphic design I can highlight the Factory Club Poster by Peter Saville. The design is very obvious, based on the look if BSI work-site hazard warning signs and it firmly established one of Factory’s multifarious designs remits.

Fig. 4, God Save the Queen Sex Pistols poster by Jamie Reid http://lewebpedagogique.com/anglaisfastoche/files/2013/09/god_save_the_queen_poster.jpg

Fig. 4, God Save the Queen Sex Pistols poster by Jamie Reid
http://lewebpedagogique.com/anglaisfastoche/files/2013/09/god_save_the_queen_poster.jpg

I think, the most famous work on that exhibition was world’s famous God Save the Queen poster for Sex Pistols designed by Jamie Reid. It is very simple and effective design copied and reproduced millions of times becoming a brand identity of British design and Sex Pistols as a band. Nowadays it’s being printed on lots of different souvenirs and canvasses.

British design exhibition has opened my eyes to the new dimensions of art and culture in Great Britain.  Genius ideas, fascinating designs and amazing historical treasures all in one place are able to make happy and inspired any visitor of this lovely show. I remember myself drawing some of the pieces as we were unable to take photos, so much exited I was. If I had a chance, I would definitely visit this exhibition again as it is going on every year. London! Here I come!

_______________________________________________________________________________________

References:

Appignanesi, R. and Garratt, C. (2003)  Postmodernism. A graphic Guide. Penguin Books Canada

Heartney, E. (2001) Postmodernism. Tate Gallery Publishing Ltd, London

Victoria and Albert Museum [WWW] Available from: http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/exhibitions/exhibition-british-design/british-design-about-the-exhibition/ [Accessed 10/12/2013]

Leave a comment